• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hi I'm New to this - Advice needed

JanetR

New Kit
Hi I'm used to posting on Heartline forum as my daughter has a heart condition so as that was a great help I thought I would appraoch this one with a view to some advice ref my gorgeous rabbits.

I got them at 6 weeks back in Dec 2009 should have both been female, I checked as well, should have known better I suppose.

They both got on really well until a couple of weeks agao when the smaller one kept making really odd noises and the bigger one kept spraying.

To cut a long story very short Sunday morning I noticed blood so looked into the sleeping area when I fed them to discover that it was moving. Help we had Kits, 4 of them I could make out. Managed to separate mum and dad by way of putting some wood over the ramp so one was upsatairs and the other below.

Unfortunately things took a turn for the worse on Tuesday am when I went to feed them that the sleeping area that i ould view from outside the hutch was still, upon looking all 4 Kits has passed away. I removed them and took my Doe to the vet for a check up she was ok but was we thought too young to have had a litter only being born Oct 2009.

Need some advice as both seem very unhappy and lonely and not sure where to go next. Would like to have a litter but not sure the best way to go about it from here.

Would love some help please as my (Heart) daughter is devastated as she was going to look after them and she feels that she has killed the Kits.

Sorley to be a pain but sorely need some advice.

Janet & Gemma
Buns are Harry and Midnight:(

Please don't blame yourself for the loss of the litter. Your doe was too young to breed. She may be pregnant again, if she was with the buck when the kits were born. :(