PDA

View Full Version : 10 week buck has attacked 10 week old doe - help!!!

follygirl
21-04-2010, 11:04 AM
Hi Newbie here :wave:

I have two dutch rabbits who are both 10 weeks old now. We have had them for 2 weeks. They are both confirmed as being a doe and a buck and we were planning on having them neutered/spayed when they are old enough. They have been really sweet together and have bonded really well. They were not from the same litter but from the same breeder.

On Monday I went to bring them in from their run when I noticed that Flower the female had a bloody ear and nose. :( There was quite a bit of fur on the grass in the run. I brought her to the vet who said she would be okay and in fact her injuries are healing really well. I have kept her inside to keep an eye on her and Joe (the male) is outside in their hutch.

The vet checked out Joe and said that he was a male but that his testicles had not dropped. He seemed surprised that such young bunnies would fight.
I have just put them in the run but divided it so that they can see each other. They are both trying desperately to be next to each other but I'm too worried about leaving them alone together. I am aware that if I keep them apart for too long then they might not be bonded anymore.

I really don't know what to do. My vet said that he would normally neuter males at 4 months which is another 6 week's away! Should I just let them play together and see what happens? At some point I will have to leave them alone and I'm terrified that Flower will get hurt again. I bought 2 so that they would have each other so buying separate hutches and runs defeats the point really.

Any advice????

I would be really grateful.

H Maughan
21-04-2010, 11:07 AM