• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Keeping two males together uncastrated? who has done it or is doing it?

Ambience

Warren Veteran
I have been keeping males together uncastrated for nearly two years now without any problems. I have just seperated them due to one of them having a little graze above his eye as this i am taking as evidence of fighting.

They have lived in harmony and snuggled up to each other at night as they are outdoors and it is a real shame seperating them.

Has anyone else done this before successfully? I can understand seperating if there is a full on fight, but in this case, where it's an obvious little graze. I am wondering if the problems of having two lonely rabbits outweigh seperating them. I have several bunnies so do not have an unlimited amount of time to give them which is why i like to keep them within site of each other or together if i can.

Trouble is the hutch they are in now is abit isolated and they wont be able to see each other because of the setup i have,which makes me really sad. I know rabbits forget each other in a few hours and will fight if you put them together, so i'm wanting to resolve this now.

I'm just not sure seperating them when they have been snuggling up together in harmony for the last 2 years nearly is the best idea. Although it does make logical sense and i would give that advice out to others too, seeing them interact gives me a deep understanding of the bond they have and i don't feel that they are an ongoing threat to each other, even if they have had a little strop.

Anyone have any other thoughts on this? Thanks

Last edited: