• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bunnies on a student loan/ very tight budget?

natandfluffs

Alpha Buck
I'm contemplating going back to uni to do mental health nursing, but before I trade my salary for a student loan I need to think financially as I don't want to be in a position where bunny care is compromised!

I'm confident that I could do it with one or two buns, but I have 5....

Who else manages, and how do you make it work?

I think I'd get a 5000 (ish) bursary, which is good and I appreciate far better than most student's situations, but I'm a mature student with a mortgage which makes it trickier. (When I did uni first time round a diet of toast, fruit and wine wasn't so bad- but I couldn't cope with it now. I can't even drink that much wine :lol:)

We get by :p

I always have money hidden away for buns... but I usually use it..... its def a good idea to have a stash.

Buns are always spoilt when the loan comes in and then I am the one that goes without for a while before the next one comes in :p

I only have two though.... and they are diddy so dont eat too much! Phew!

Mind you, I dont get as much as you would be getting!! Maybe visit the CAB and they can help you budget and see if it is possible? :D

I currently have no job that I being payed for atm. I am studying and OH works in London and we manage fine.
Definate stash is needed and insurance is a god-send for me! Just in case!

I think perhaps I need to get better at saving... and prioritising :oops:

I'm sure you're right and it is possible. I probably need to sit down and work out how much I will really need and how much I can stash for bunnies.