• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New here with a breeder question too!

Jerseylotte

Warren Scout
Hiya all,

I'm Lotte, I work as a Herpetologist but kept and bred Bunnies for 8 years prior to moving away to Jersey.

There are prettymuch no breeds available here, but we finally managed to track down a breeder that has Netherlands. My OH has been incredibly excited since I explained to him that house buns were perfectly possible, so after a good few months planning and plotting we're hoping to bring home "The General" (I don't think the irony of his full name will be welcomed by all!!! :lol:) in the next couple of weeks.

He's what I think is called a Sable Marten, but I'm viewing him again tomorrow to have a good proper look at him and the Doe.

My odd question (perhaps someone can direct me to a better place to pose this?) is this;
The breeder who seems like a perfectly amiable chap has said to my OH that he wants to know we will keep him intact so he can breed from him...

Now, this isn't something I would ever have asked of a potential buyer. If I consider a buck a potential breeder I'd invest the time and space keeping him back and raising him myself... More to the point, once it's sold, it's sold!?!

So he could indicate that he would not sell to us if we intended to Neuter him simply because he did not agree with the practice, or he could expect to pay stud fees like anybody else, but surely no one would ask a new owner of a house rabbit to potentially toil through the terrible teens so that someone else could have the luxury of breeding a rabbit they had already sold!?! Sounds barking to me.

Any thoughts?
Lotte***