• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Opinions on new hutch set up please

sophiew

Young Bun
Quick re-cap - got a rabbit last Sunday, having never had one before. I run a guinea rescue, so lots of those, and lots of hutches! The rabbit has been in the shed in a whole level of my hutch block this week until I could get something more permanent sorted, and today I've ressurected one of my large hutches for her, and adapted a run - it used to have open ends and a hutch on each end for the guineas, but I didn't think this would be secure enough for a rabbit so I wired it over. I've got a hidey for the run too.

Is this ok for her? The hutch is about 8' long and over 2' wide, the run is about 6' x 3' I think.

Feedback appreciated, as I'm new to all of this!

Empty hutch:
IMG_0103.jpg

Wooden hidey one end:
IMG_0104.jpg

Other end:
IMG_0107.jpg

IMG_0109.jpg

Hidey with hayrack attached:
IMG_0110.jpg

All:
IMG_0111.jpg

Inspecting her new abode:
IMG_0118.jpg

IMG_0121.jpg

Not quite what I had in mind!

IMG_0124-1.jpg

Closed up:
IMG_0125-1.jpg

Run:
IMG_0126-1.jpg

I hadn't thought about her jumping on top of the hidey hut, is there a danger she could hurt herself in the hayrack if she jumped from above?

Also I read somewhere to not let them have plastic things, is that true?

Thanks!

Sophie

PS Now I know she is a girl she's been renamed from Barry to Bridget Jones!

That set up looks great to me :D I suppose there is a 'slight' risk of injury if she jumps from the top of the hidy and catches a leg in the hay rack - perhaps it would be safer to attach it to the wire on the doors of the hutch?