• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Bunny Exercise

Fudgey

Young Bun
Hi all,

i am currently new to rabbits united so just working out how to use the site.

I have a lionhead cross bunny who is 1 year old. he is kept as a house rabbit.

i give him as much exercise around the room as possible. at the moment he is having an hour a night, is this enough?

look forward to your replys.

Regards,

James

Hiya,

I work all day so the only time i get is in the evenings, i have to keep an eye on him because he's a noughty boy.

how much would you recomend??

Does he chew and stuff?

when I was at school, my two were kept in all day. However, when I was getting dressed in the morning they were let out for an hour. And when I get back, they were let out for the whole evening.
However, now they are out probably most of the day, as im in all the time now.

I seem to find, that when they are out after a period of time, they get so tired and just flop somewhere.

Is he living in a normal inside hutch?
Because, you may want to change that to NIC cubes, if you are away for most of the day. They let you make a bigger space for him to run about without you having to let him out. And then when you get back in the evening, he wont have so much pent up energy and wont go mad.

I posted this in the thread you have started in general chat
Hiya Do you have room to connect a puppy pen to your cage? The cage your talking about isnt really big enough for a rabbit to be in for long hours its mainly ideal for a base(cage left open) or with a puppy pen attached,A hour aday excersise isnt really enough when the rabbits cage is quite small

If he is a lone bunny he needs ALOT of human company the more the better.