• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

does anyone keep there rabbits indoors?

im new to having a rabbit and was just wondering if anyone keeps their bunnys indoors? if so where do u keep them? also does anyone know if rabbits can cause a healthy person to get asthma?

cath xx

I have 4 indoor rabbits , the have their own cages and get turns to run free in the kitchen . They cant give you asthma but you can be allergic to them just the same as other animals ;)

An allergic reaction can manifest itself or culminate in an Asthma attack.

My son has hayfever and during the summer he was having a bad hayfever day, then he held our GP's (which he is a bit allergic to - usually just takes some Piriton if he's held them (as his eyes itch and his nose runs) and this "tipped him over the edge" so to speak and he had an asthma attack. The Dr explained that if you have an allergy and your allergic response is "switched on" then you are more likely to react to something else - in my sons case the hayfever switched on his alllergic response so he reacted more dramatically to the GP's.

:wave: yes lots of us here with indoor buns - I have 2 (a pair and a single) they live in NIC Cubes - which are brilliant for making any shape or size!

This was mine a few months ago - been converted now..as mine now live in the spare room..
CIMG0568.jpg

You can also use a dog crate as a base and let them free-range a room or living room - but you must 'bunny proof' as they do tend to go for wires and furniture etc.

Im so grateful to have indoor buns this time of year :D

Hi Cath, I'm asthmatic & I have budgies, cats & now a bunny.