• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Breeds of rabbits

mangobiscuit

Young Bun
I am a bunny novice and acquired my Dom bun fairly unexpectedly.......

Anyhoo, he came from a petshop. I understand that most stock in a petshop will probably be a mix of different breeds (is this correct??)

I am interested (because I'm becoming a little too obsessed with him!) to know if it is easy to look at a rabbit (and stats) and have a good guess at what breed it is?? In short, can you look at a rabbit and tell easily.

It certainly doesn't matter to me but I'd love to know what he looks like / could be a mix of.......

I've looked on websites listing breeds and am still not really that sure :-S:lol:

(Horses are my usual thing until little ball of fluff came along....can you tell I'm completely clueless:oops::oops:)

Sorry if this is a bit of a "*yawn* another stupid newbie question" - at least I admit it;)

Hello!!

Yes I will try and upload a bigger one - he was marked as a "mini lop" but my vet was unsure. He was also sold as younger than he really was....

He was about 16 wks in this pic (I think??) maybe younger. It's the only one i could find that had the tunnel to use as a comparison for size.

His ears are hilarious! They've got longer and longer!

domino012.jpg

CUTE - i'd say Dwarf Lop or a dwarf x mini lop

Plenty of good advice and ideas on here for looking after him - whats his name?

Welcome to the forum! :wave:

Vet could well be right, the colouring is butterfly mini lop. Has he got a tiny fringe between his ears?

Thank you everyone for your replies:wave: and the welcome!

His name is Domino and is very naughty but cute.

SOrry I have no idea what he weighs but may be able to find out from the vet when he goes for his claw clipping:p