• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Question: Is there enough information available for new/prospective rabbit owners?

Yukarangz

New Kit
Okay, I'll admit, I'm here looking for an insight into the rabbit keeping community. I'm studying for a FdSc in Animal Behaviour, and one project I have to do is: 'Is there enough information available for new pet owners?".

My group are presenting on rabbits, and we need as many facts and opinions as possible. The main areas of concern we uncovered were:

Husbandry - grooming, nutrition and how the animal is treated. What kind of information do A) Breeders, B) Pet Shops and C) Rescue Shelters offer in terms of general rabbit care and welfare?

Housing - I noted that some pet shop near me had tiny cages, that I wouldn't house rats in, housing young rabbits. They were also filthy and bare. :censored: Is this a common problem? What message are these people sending to people who want a rabbit companion?

Veterinary Care - information on vaccines and other treatments, etc. Is there enough information being shared with new owners on this?

All advice, opinions, input, etc. are more than welcome. Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, and I hope I'm not imposing too much by posting this. :)

As an aside, I'd like a rabbit of my own one day, but it won't be for a while yet. I'd prefer a house rabbit to a hutch-housed rabbit and have heard that they can be litter trained.

I think information is very limited from most pet shops, and bad breeders. Good breeders tend to inform more, and generally rescue centres educate the most because of why they do what they do (rescue centres do it for the buns, whereas pet shops do it for the money, etc).