• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

The skin under the chin, what's it called?!

LoopyLouie

Wise Old Thumper
Hi all!

My friend is thy thinking about adopting two buns from our local pets at home but is concerned about the size of the flaps of skin under their chins. Could this just be that they are overweight? Or a sign of other problems?

:wave:Dewlap - I think the dewlap varies at different times in females (unneutered) and phantom pregnancies etc-I had a female who had a couple of phantoms not long after I got her and her dewlap seemed to be slightly bigger and she pulled fur from it for a nest. I'm not that experienced and I am sure more knowlegeable people will advise but, I did think that it could be the sign of being a bit overweight aswell if very large????

It's called a dewlap.
Most doe's have one, and the more overweight the rabbit the bigger the dewlap. Overweight males sometimes get one too.

Sometimes when doe's are spayed the dewlap shrinks a little :wave:

Some rabbits seem to be genetically programmed to have large dewlaps, even if they are slim or healthy, so there can be many causes for them.

My most recent foster came to me emaciated (and spayed a few months previous) with a HUGE dewlap :lol: She looked odd.

In our house though they are called 'A Plush' :lol:

Last edited:
Do you mean like Princess in my Sig, She had a huge dewlap, but she was still within here weight range. It is often in un neutered females, that you see them most.

Although saying that 2 un neutered females sounds like a recipe for disaster! Did she ask about them, or was just looking? maybe they are a little over weight too

This is my daughters rabbit Honey, as you can see her dewlap doubles as a pillow:lol:
HunnyBunny021.jpg

DSCF0100.jpg