• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

House bun questions - I'm new to this.

Jenova

Wise Old Thumper
I've always had my rabbits outside all year round but the house we have now doesn't have a garden, only a yard, and also because Grimlock is quite ill I want to make him a house bunny. He's litter trained and spends about 12 - 14 hours a day in the house anyway, but if we go out or go to bed he's always put back in his hutch so we can lock up.

I'm probably going to get a 36" dog crate which will give him room to lie down as well as a litter tray and two bowls. I'll also put a shelf in there for a bit of extra room and fun. Now the question I have is can I leave the cage door open 24/7? Due to his abscess Grimlock no longer has any front teeth :)() which means I have no worries about bunny proofing, so can I just let him have free run of the house all the time as long as I make sure nothing's going to fall on him etc?

Ideally I'd like to have his cage in the bedroom, but that's where I keep the chinchillas and as they need low temperatures I have to keep the window open which is fairly low down. Therefore I always keep the bedroom door shut so my bun is safe. I'd like to keep him out at all times, and he would only be alone for a max of 5 hours a day or while we were asleep, but if not is 36" cage big enough?

If there's nothing he can damage or that can harm him, why not leave him out? Is he litter trained? You might need to keep his space reduced at first (a folding indoor pen??) until you're sure he's using his litter tray reliably.