• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

I always pick them up by the scruff...

Jemma&Theo

Mama Doe
Am I cruel ? I didnt realise until the other thread that it was wrong.

I grab their scruff then support their bum .

I cant get them any other way......... have i been hurting them? I feel so guilty..............

:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::(:(:(:(:(:(:(

It is acceptable to pick up a rabbit by the scruff and support the bum - you must support the bum.

I'm a Vet Nurse and ALL the books say it is acceptable. However, i personally do not pick a rabbit up in this way as i prefer to hold them close to me (less likely to wriggle and cause injury). it makes the rabbit feel safer and i'm not personally a fan of scruffing. The only time i would do it is if a rabbit was trying to run away and i needed to grab it for its own safety. Sometimes my own bunnies have gotten themselves stuck in gaps or wedged themselves in places and ive had no choice but to pick them up by their scruff to get them out or stop them hurting themselves.

Scruffing is NOT cruel, but there are nicer menthods of handling, in my opinion.

It is acceptable to pick up a rabbit by the scruff and support the bum - you must support the bum.