• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Holiday Housing Solution

VikkiVet

Mama Doe
I could post this in housing, but i figured i'd get a better response here....

As you may know, i am a vet student and live, during term time, in a bungalow with 3 other vet students. The rabbits have a wendy house and run for the summer, and are indoors for the winter (wusses dont like the wet!). But during the holidays i take them home with me to Gloucestershire while i am on my placements, and my parents take care of them as and when i am not home.

Last winter they lived in my dad's office (converted garage) in the largest zooplus metal run, but mum decided to move her computer in there as well, so now they are in my bedroom in a dog crate, with free ranging in my room during the day (babygate across the door).

Today, after about the 5th row over rabbits and where the live and how much mess they make, i was wondering if there is anything else i can do or any other way to house them?

They cant go outside in the winter because they are indoors during term time, but we could get a hutch and run for the garden for summer, but i am broke so it would have to be my parents money. there is nowhere else inside the house i can put them.

Any suggestions?

Can you attach some puppy panels to the dog crate to make a contained 'run' within your room? At least then, any mess will be confined to one area. Not ideal when they've been used to the whole room but if a compromise is going to mean your parents are happy to have them then surely it's got to be worth it? They are messy little blighters though aren't they? When Flora and Parsnip lived indoors last winter, I felt like 'no outfit was complete without a strand or two of hay attached':lol::lol: Hay and bobbles get EVERYWHERE :roll::lol: