• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Happy ending?!

maggyottermad

Warren Scout
Im a vet nurse but never been into rabbits, I fully admit that I got my rabbits the wrong way, through a pet centre :oops:

I got sibling rex's, and a 5ft hutch as was advised this was sufficient...

One week later I discovered the doe had a well developed dental absess, and knowing that the prognosis wouldnt be good I took her back, advising she would need surgery and fulltime care post op, I didnt want Ruben bonding further only with her to lose her...:(

I have recently sourced the 'breeder' who supplied this person with rabbits, who then 'bred' these rabbits, kept in cramped conditions and weaned too young, and sold to pet centre, I actually spoke to her! She is a registered BRC breeder. I plan on informing the brc as I believe I should not only make up for providing business to these people but to also stop it from happening somehow? I am also going to write a letter to the pet centre and inform of all this, as they told me how great the breeder was :evil:

This left Ruben alone, I started visiting this forum and read more about rabbits welfare, realised that I didnt have the right accomodation and that I needed to get him a friend.

After months of searching and reading up I ordered a new 6ft hutch with run, and I got in touch with Fat Fluffs rescue.

Today I went there with Ruben, and 2 hours bonding later came home with Havana a cheeky little mini rex doe :love:

I have learnt so much over last few months and feel like I shouldnt have gone where i went to get Ruben, but I have taken lots from that and hope now to keep learning and provide the best home for my pair.

Ruben looking so lonely:
004.jpg

new hutch
003.jpg

new friends:
RubenHavana003.jpg

Havana:
RubenHavana006.jpg