• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rampant Rabbit

Rosey

Young Bun
lol sorry for the title ;)

George is nearly 2 now, and goes through bouts of humping hands, tunnels anything really. He was neutered about 3 weeks ago now and it seems to have got worse.

We got a new rescue bunny, and they were getting on so well, layed together, grooming through the run etc, so this morning we put them together and George just would not leave her alone, and he is permantly trying to mount her. Nether one of them are being aggressive, and Missy just moves, but George is trying to climb back on again and again.

We have seperated them again, and I know its early days but any advice would be much appriciated please :)

Rosey x

I'm not an expert at all - so hopefully someone with more experience will come along, but it sounds to me like you need to give him a bit more time for his hormones to die done before trying to bond him with his wife-to-be (also if she has not spayed i think there is a small chance he can still be fertile 3-4 weeks after his neuter). We made the mistake of trying to bond hector with a girl only 3 weeks after his neuter and he wouldn't stop humping her - eventually she retaliated and bit his ear and they had to be separated. We then waited several weeks for hormones to subside a bit and tried him with Honey. ALthough there was still a bit of humping, it was MUCH less extreme (just asserting dominance) and they have been living happily together ever since.

When you do bond them make sure they are somewhere neutral/new to both of them.

Thanks :) Yes she has been neutered too, but was not sure how long after his hormones would still be raging lol

Hopefully things will settle down then.

x