PDA

View Full Version : Joining Hutches?



happybunny22000
22-06-2009, 09:16 AM
Has anyone tried ....joining hutches

I ahve whiskeys hutch and run, and if all goes well with the second I will be getting a second set upn (been looking at the happy hutches) to house her till they can be bonded, if all goes well, I will have two medium set ups so was looking can anyone tell me of they ahve tried or have had any ideas how to join them together?

holidayhutch
22-06-2009, 09:43 AM
Hubby joined two 4ft hutches together to make an 8ft one, he removed the end off of each hutch and then put a thicker piece of wood between them above 2ft to the top before bolting it together. This gave them 8ft of space to hop along in and 4ft of head room apart from at the join. One of our customers has done the same only they have used a short pipe running between each hutch. A few people on here saw the hutch we'd done, but dont think I've still got a pic of it and we no longer have the hutch.

happybunny22000
22-06-2009, 10:03 AM
Because theyde be 2 different ones I was thinking of a pipe too

waggytailstina
22-06-2009, 10:21 PM
I was given 4 new 4ft hutches a while back and we joined them up very easily, We also made them 2 ways of getting back upstairs, my big buns love staying in there.

happybunny22000
22-06-2009, 10:43 PM
Any pics?

natandfluffs
22-06-2009, 10:48 PM
I did this once- made holes in the side of each and made a little tunnel with piping.

Makes it tricky to move though.

Fluffie
23-06-2009, 07:09 AM
Pipe is a good idea im putting 2 hutches together this holidy

happybunny22000
23-06-2009, 07:55 AM
any pics?

holidayhutch
23-06-2009, 09:27 AM
Just be careful with the piping that it is not too long. A poorly bun may snuggle inside the pipe to keep warm and safe. You need to make sure the pipe can be accessed easily to be able to get any hiding animals out of but also for cleaning:D