• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Afew questions before I buy a rabbit

Hi everyone!

Im a newbie to this forum, however Im happy to have found it because I want to get a bunny (Dwarf Lop to be exact), but Im not 100% sure. I have a few questions such as how big do they grow to and can they be toilet trained? Is it best for them to live outside in a hutch or inside the house? Do they smell?

Also, when I was broswing this site I read a few posts saying how hard it was to look after rabbits, can someone say why?

Thanks

Can I just say well done for finding this forum! You have already proved to be a much more responsible bunny mummy than most! :thumb:

There are loads of really experienced bunny owners on here who will be able to give you loads of advice.

Firstly I would say the term 'dwarf' is a bit misleading, these buns are actually medium sized and can grow to be quite big! If you're looking for a smaller bun a mini-lop or a nethie would probably be the best option. Bunnies can be toilet trained to use a litter tray, and will often do this naturally as they like to do it all in one place. Mine were trained very easily. Bunnies are happy either inside or outside and will not smell so long as you keep on top of the cleaning, which can be quite time consuming!

Secondly, bunnies like to live with other buns! They are social animals so you would be doing your new pet a favour by getting 2, a male and a female pair preferable, both neutered of course!

Thirdly, there are thousands of buns in rescues, of all ages, some already bonded and lots already vaccinated and neutered. It's definitely the best way to go for a new pet! :)