• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

eric's first 'noise' - ???

poppymoon

Wise Old Thumper
had to pick eric up for bed last night as he just refused point blank to go to bed and i was sooooo tired. he was fine whilst i carried him but as i neared his cage he made a noise (first time ever!). it was like a blowing noise thro his nose, i suppose the human equivalent would be 'hhhhmmmpppphhh'.

what is this noise classed as? what may it mean? (i'm thinking it means 'how DARE you mummy:shock:'))

x

hi poppymoon! i registered just to answer your post - goodness, what a performance!

i'm not a bunny expert. my two bunnies are very vocal, though. matthew, particularly, huffs a lot - he huffs for "what an imposition! imagine picking me up/putting me down" and "i like it here, i'll whisper into your ear about it" together with "slave! you may continue to groom me!" this particular huff is usually followed by gentle grinding of happy teeth. then, a lick or two. maybe a shift of position, so his head rests somewhere comfy, like a shoulder or (his preference) left breast. his sister tabitha is a biting rabbit, and doesn't like to be held. she will be very, very vocal if anyone tries it - growly rabbit! she huffs when she is happy to be stroked, so i assume its some kind of affirmation. i think that's what mine mean by "huff" or "pfft" - but yours might mean something quite different.:)