• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rescue centre question - newbie here x

Oscarsmom

Warren Scout
Hi Guys

Wonder whether anyone could offer me some advice....at the moment I have a single male rabbit...he is housed in a 5x2x2 hutch outside....but has an 11ft x 5ft run...separate to the hutch but he has daily access...however Im thinking of getting him a friend as I think it would be nice to have company....

So my questions are :-

1) Is the size of Hutch and run area acceptable for x2 buns?
2) What type of friend would you recommend? - another male (neutered) a female (neutered)?
3) Do I need to get Oscar Neutered before adding either of the above?
4) If yes what sort of cost am I looking at?

thanks in advance

Not sure about the size of the hutch but perhaps check with the rescue about their requirements.

Neutered female.

Yes you would need to get him neutered and vet bills vary mine was £60.00.

I think some rescues would want the run attached to the hutch but they all vary in their requirements. Yes definately get him neutered costs vary between vets and which part of the country you are in. A neutered female would probably be easier to bond with him than a male but it does depend on the rabbit most rescues will help with bonding and advise on a suitable friend. Good luck :)

Hi Guys

Wonder whether anyone could offer me some advice....at the moment I have a single male rabbit...he is housed in a 5x2x2 hutch outside....but has an 11ft x 5ft run...separate to the hutch but he has daily access...however Im thinking of getting him a friend as I think it would be nice to have company....

So my questions are :-

1) Is the size of Hutch and run area acceptable for x2 buns?