• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Yet another question - sorry! Re. My new bun

SisterMoonbeam

Mama Doe
Sorry i seem to have started a myriad of threads lately! My new bun, frankie is worrying me slightly. I got him on thursday and he has barely eaten and is VERY quiet.

He has had huge upheaval recently, he was neutered on monday and only came to me on thursday so this might account for that but i've had no experience with post-neutered bunnies so not sure if it is normal.

When he is in his hutch he sits in the enclosed part and we hardly ever see him out, when he is out with me he seems inquisitive and has a good sniff and seems quite assertive but in the run, again, he is quiet and huddled in a corner and, like i said barely interested in his food. I gave him his pellets on thursday night and he had nibbled a couple by friday morning so i left them in the hutch. I topped up again last night and he has still barely made a dent. I also gave him veggies and lots of hay and a hay cookie (P@h ones) and nothing has been touched. He did have some carrott and top while he was out with me yesterday but that's it.

Should i be worried?

Charlie was a little bit off his food when he was first neutered, he just seemed really annoyed for a few days. He was fine after that though, so I hope it's just the same sort of thing!

most vets offer a free post op check so I'd take him along if you are worried. It's not unusual for buns to be off their food after neutering & if they have recently moved homes & the two together has probably thrown him.....if it were me I'd......

make sure he's got water, hay & some pellets in the place he's choosing to sit most often as well as where you'd normally put them.