• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

What to expect...

hok9

Young Bun
I have stated that i am new to this furry little world and have a general concern, i think. Since I have to buns under 2 months (age cannot be confirmed its just the best guest I can get from the sexing pics i have seen) what should I expect in the upcoming future as far as them acting and the types of medical conditions that are a concern in the summer months.

First of all you need to get your bunnies sexed by a vet. If they are the same sex, they will start fighting as soon as their hormones kick in. If they are male and female, you will end up with babies. The best thing to do is to get them both neutered as soon as possible. (I think that the males can be castrated when they are 3 months old and the females when they are 6 months old).
Bunnies have to be vaccinated in this country against VHD and myxomatosis, but I am not sure if the same goes for Japan - you will need to ask a vet. As summer is coming, there is always the danger of flystrike, so you need to daily check your bunnies' bums for maggots. I am sure I have not covered everything, so the best advice I can give you is take your bunnies to see a vet for a check up and sexing.

Do you know how much the vaccines run? I realize that there may be a price gap. I am worried about flies as it does get very humid during the summers here and there are alot of bugs. I need to call my vet tomorrow and get an appointment for them to get fixed. Do you know any questions i should ask the vet?