• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Would My Setup Meet Criteria To Adopt Rescue Bun/s?

sonnet

Alpha Buck
Having lost Merlin I have been thinking of having another rabbit in the future, as I've got so much love to give & although it would never replace him, it would help fill the gap that losing him has left in my life.
So..I have been thinking about possibly adopting rescue bun/s. As I've never done this before I wondered if my setup would be approved or not, as from looking at some rescue sites their criteria seems to vary.

I have a 5ft x 2ft x 2ft 2-tier hutch that is within a 8ft x 6ft cabin (cabin has stable doors/wire netted long door/opening windows). So internally within the cabin there is the hutch with a 5ft 6in x 5ft 6in floor space in front of it for permanent 'run' access.
Also there is a large run in the garden for supervised access (as we occasionally have foxes & large birds of prey visit the garden).
Would my setup get approval?

Also is it always the case that rescue buns are rehomed in pairs? I appreciate that rabbits like company but Merlin was never without this although he was an only bun, as most of the time there is someone out & about in the garden.

I'd appreciate people's thoughts as I do feel I could offer a good forever home.

You should be able to find a rescue that will let you adopt a pair of bunnies as the setup should be big enough :) The first one you try doesn't always agree, sometimes they don't like double hutches or have other rules, but keep trying as each rescue has different requirements.

If you provide them with photos it might make it easier for them to judge.