• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

At a loss as to what to do now =[

loobie_lou

Mama Doe
A few weeks ago I contacted the PDSA regarding Kitt, and to see if I was eligible for free vet care as I'm a student, experiencing hardship and exempt from paying council tax. The lady who e-mailed me back said that they have taken in to account students, and therefore I was eligible but needed to contact the PDSA which serves my area. I took Kitt and was told he needed his left molar burring (which I knew anyway), but as it wasn't an emergency to take him back in today (2 weeks later).

I took him back in today with a letter from my university, council tax exemption form and hardship letter and was told that I couldn't register but could leave him, where he would have emergency treatment. So I left him at 9:30am - I was really reluctant as he was kept in one of the baskets, as opposed to his own carrier :(. I phoned up the PDSA at 13:00pmish and asked how he was doing, and when I could pick him up, only to be told that they hadn't done his teeth because my forms weren't complete - WHY couldn't they have phoned me and told me this?!!? I went all the way back to the PDSA (which is 2 bus journeys away taking up to an hour) and was told that I'm not eligible and given a letter to give to a private vet saying what treatment he needs. Furthermore I sent Kitt in with some packed lunch of hay and vege only to be given the bag back with some hay left in and a bag of muesli - I don't feed my rabbits muesli, so I am a bit annoyed as this may cause further problems in form of a stomach upset!!