• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rabbit/Guinea-pig neglect update*

Lessie

Alpha Buck
Hi,

As some of you may be aware of my previous questions regarding my aunty's rabbit and guinea-pig, well after I've spoken to my mum today, she has agreed with me that I should contact the r.s.p.c.a, which I have done this evening.

I am relieved that I have contacted them but also I'm apprehensive what is going to happen. I have told them what I knew and seen but I forgot to mention some other things I have completely forgotten whilst I was talking to a lady on the phone.
I feel really bad now!?:(
It is my first time I've contacted the rspca and I just hope I've done the right thing and given enough information. She has asked me if they are suffering, and what their body conditions are like. I replied saying it isn’t too bad apart from the guinea-pig’s skin have lots of dandruffs and I assumed he has got mites and the dwarf lop rabbit looked fine but neither of them are receiving the right feeds, no unlimited access to hay, or unlimited access to express their normal behaviours. Is this good enough to be classified as neglect?

What do you think will happen next; what are the rspca views of a rabbit and guinea-pig living in a 3 ft hutch? If so what are they going to do about it?

As far as I'm aware of, they will e-mail me the update and reports of what they have done once they've inspected the rabbit and guinea-pig.

I'm just nervous and want this over and done with knowing that they will not be suffering and receiving the right care!!:)

Thank-you

Hi,

Thank you for posting back, I was hoping you would.

I think it is fantastic that your Mum is supporting you in this, I am sure it is very hard for you all.