• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

My bunny has red eyes

Maria786

Warren Scout
Both of the whites of his eyes have sort of turned red. Just saw it this evening, sort of panicking incase its something serious. I dont even have pet insurance, can u recommend any from experience and also tell me why his eyes might be red?

Sounds like he may have got a little infection or something - I'd pop him up to the vets tomorrow, red whites suggest that he's feeling quite sore so the sooner he can get some medicine (probably eye drops) the better, and also the sooner he gets them, hopefully the quicker it will clear up without any longer term problems :)

do u use sawdust? im not an expert but maybe it could be something irritating its eyes???

I use dust extracted wood shavings, but was planning to swap over for bio catolet soon as the pack is still not used up. I dunno if it's the wood shavings or an infection, but will go to vet tomorrow and also get some insurance for him, cant really afford vet bills these days..........:(

Don't worry about insurance. If it's just an eye infection then it won't be expensive :)

Oh right, but the rabbit savvy vet that i know of, who isnt cheap charges about £27 just for checking and then other meds on top. The cheap vet doesnt seem as savvy.

Eye infections are usually very simple to treat and recognise. Usually anti-biotics and/or eye drops are prescribed. I've had a lot of experience with bunnies with eye infections. Biscuit has had so many I've lost count, and Wuzzle's just had a nasty one brought on by him moulting. Are his eyes weeping??