• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Freecycle - Making a factsheet - anyone know of important links i should add??

Rabbits and other animals too.

I'll start by saying please dont have a go at me, im just starting this to see what peoples thoughts are on something that maybe i can try to help, at least with my freecycle group.

im a moderator on a freecycle group, im fairly new to it and im enjoying using my brain again (even if its only for fleeting moments :lol: )
our freecycle did a poll to see if its members wanted to allow pets on our group or not, and the majority voted yes.
I must say that we dont actually get many animals coming up thankfully. there is a set of guidelines and information that is pointed toward any posters.

Ive put it forward that wanteds for pets (i cant believe people actually ask for pets via freecycle, if you cant afford to buy a pet, let alone its housing, then you shouldnt have it!!! and so lazy expecting people to just bring it to you!) shouldnt really be allowed as it serves no helpful purpose and actually gives people an excuse to get rid of a pet that otherwise wouldnt be given up.
the good news is that this might go ahead :)

now i do my best as a mod and as an animal lover to try and do something towards the animals being offered, i try to send a message (though not as a mod, but as a member as its not official) with links of places/websites that could help. ive even taken in a pair of rats that had previously been offered and were being offered for a second time (thanks so much to kay and her friend for taking them on)... but is there anything more i could realistically do, or put forward as a suggestion... i thought id ask you guys.