• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Desperate advice needed.

ab1063

Warren Scout
as you might know im looking to adopt a lionhead bunny.
i've found an owner nearby, but the bunny is already bonded with another bunny(which i don't think i have the space or money for)
Would it be heartbreaking if i broke them up?
would the bunnys get over it?
i don't want to do anything which will affect them long term.
ideally i'de take both, which i'm going to try my best to do but if i can't should i take this bunny?
help?
i'm not experienced with bonds.

It would be very wrong to split them up if they are happy together and there is no danger of pregnancy.
Some bunnies will get over it eventually, others will pine for months on end.

No definitely dont split up an already bonded pair. What would happen to the poor one left all alone? Plus it would still be very stressful on the one you took and bonded to another bun. Definitely dont do that. x

Hmmm - doesn't say much for the owner of the lionhead who seems quite prepared to split up the pair that he/she already has.

ok so that was a stupid question i guess sorry everyone! thanks for the advice though.
can rabbits form trios??

You can have a group of three, but it can be difficult, as the saying three's a crowd rings true in most cases. I'd take them both as the owner doesn't seem very responsible.

I think it very much depends on the rabbits - when I bonded my two pairs into a four, Harry, Heather and Santa formed a lovely little trio with Dudley very much the outcast (they are now back in their pairs). Louiseandgus also has a trio and hers seems to work fine too.