• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Does Anyone know when lionhead rabbits fully grow in their "mane"?

Xowhiteasianxo

Warren Scout
Azlan is about 10 months and he is a lionhead rabbit. Except that he really doesn't have a "mane" like the other rabbits I see. Just really fluffy cheeks! :lol:
072.jpg

073.jpg

Does it look fully grown in to you?

Also, if anyone can tell me anything about Azlan (single man or double mane)it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! :wave:

i know that some lose their full mane after they moult around 6 months..some then become maneless!! or carry on with the mane getting bigger!

im no experts in things like breeding but i do recall an article as when i got my bif from the rescue they said she was lionhead cross but i couldnt understand why! its cos her bro had full mane.

my bandit right now has a massive mane but not under his chin..maybe thats a single and a double is also under the chin?

btw...awwwwwwwwwwww:love:

I have one "pure" lionhead (Smirnoff my first bun, came rung). He has virtually no mane - some of my crosses are way, way fluffier:D

my lionhead didnt really look like one at all at 6mths when i got him but now 8mnths later he is a little ball of fluff with beard and fluffy bum. It seems to be growing still ....
It just seemed to spring up!

Hello

Eric and Ernie are Lionhead x mini lop.

As you can see below, Ernie had an incredible mane, but he has lost most of it now, and has little tuffs (no updated pics i'm afraid).

But I think it varies quite a lot wth Lionheads.

I am secretly hoping Ernie mght get his back:)

Mine is 10m and people have commented he looks like a cat with the fur :lol: he just seems to have alot on the top between his ears ;)