• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

dirty bottom

busterbunny

New Kit
hi i'm new to this so i'd like to introduce myself 1st:wave: i have a mini lop who is home bred and is now 6years old. he is an uneutered male (i'm bad i know i should have neutered him but i dont want to put him through that now).

the reason for my post is i want to know peoples thoughts on if i should bathe him as he is very dirty around his bottom and his chin. He has always suffered a dirty bottom and the only time this was controlled was when feeding D & H Rabbit Royale (i love this) however after losing weight i realised his teeth are virtually useless to him he only has one front tooth and his molars do not meet properly so have changed him to D & H pellets so i can soak them, (he's not keen) so consequently he has become dirty again, although i have used soaked cotton wool balls to try to get this off its not enough. The chin is because vet advised feeding complan to build him up, which i have been putting with a rusk as well with soya milk). i read somewhere to give oats as well for help putting weight on, any way he now laps his mixture from a bowl but gets it in his fur i try to wipe clean with cotton woll and water again but its a bit of a loseing battle so it gets all sticky and he's not happy with me doing it. i think he's put enough weight on to stay on normal food only now so hopefully shouldn't be a problem.

I'm sorry to post such a long post for a first but i had to give you the overall picture so you understood why i wanted to bath my rabbit and didn't think i was a raving loone who was going to blow dry and purfume the bun as well (although you probably think i'm a raving loone anyway now :oops:)