• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

bonding help

lauraocal

Warren Scout
I have a 1 year old spayed femail and a 10 week old male baby.
I have tried bonding them and although at first all seemed well the older female bit the baby on the bum.
I am so scared that she will hurt the baby.
Any tips or advice please?

maybe let them meet through meshing or fencing for a while so they know who each other are but can't hurt each other. I think bum nipping is normal and not too rough, I am new to bonding, but allow bum nips, i break them up when they start boxing or lunge for the neck area at the moment. If u are worried about the size differences etc maybe keep them side by side in pens until your baby bun is bigger? Also when baby bun gets older it may need neutering as could make the relationship turn sour with territorial issues.

Are they house buns? Did u introduce in neutral area? This the the rule that most people go by and will advise on here.

Hope this is of help

Good luck

i have put them in the bath as that is the only place my girl doesnt go.
She is extreemly jealous i think as if the baby comes to my hand she is straight there nudging him out the way.
I think I'm going to wait a while until the baby is a little bigger and more relaxed here first.
Bless him, he's so cute xx

you sound as if you are having problems with neutral terrtory like myself! I live in a studio flat and captain is allowed everywhere but doesnt go in the kitchen coz he isn't a fan of it for some reason. there is no actual door on it however. so i have to use a big flatened out cardboard box to barricade us all in!

Its a nightmare isn't it?

I have kept them apart now until the baby is a bit bigger and more sure of himself.