• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New Rabbit Owner Cold Weather Advice Please.

Jess1711

New Kit
Hi my name is Helen I'm new to all this and would really love some advice,
I've had my two rabbits Lily and Daisy for the past six months now, they're outdoor bunnies and have been since we got them. This will be my first winter as a rabbit owner, I'm not sure what to do when it starts getting really cold. They have a large two storey hutch and I attach a run to it throughout the day. At night they're covered over with a Scratch & Newton hutch cover, the hutch is against the wall of the house so they would get some heat from that. I have also put a load of old woollen blankets underneath the cover to give some extra protection, they obviously also have each other to snuggle up to. Their sleeping compartment is crammed with hay. Do you think that this is enough? I'm toying with the idea of getting another smaller hutch to put in the garage so I could put them in there at night when it gets really cold. what do you all think? Any advice would be really appreciated

I think you are doing ok at the moment. It's sounding like they are toasty bunnies. :lol: Also, they have their winter coats too. I wouldn't recommend putting them into a small hutch in the garage (especially if it is a used garage, because of the fumes).

Oh OK that's good it's not a used garage by the way, well not used by a car anyway lol it's full of junk!! ****** I thought I might have had a good reason to get my hubby out there and clear it out lol