• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Another Newbie Here!

attilathebun

Mama Doe
Hello everyone,

Gill & George here, we have recently acquired a young netherland dwarf doe and are hoping to match her up with a husbun from a local rescue. We bought her with her sister from a local pet shop but the sister died within 24 hours of us bringing her home. It was a dreadfully sad experience and we are still at a loss to know what it was. It happened on a Sunday and we called the emergency vets but she was gone before we even had chance to set out on the journey.

Thankfully our other girl is thriving so we are confident that it is nothing that we did wrong. We informed the pet shop but they weren't really interested (surprise surprise!)

Since then we have done a lot more research and oh how we wish we had gone to a rabbit rescue in the first place rather than a pet shop. We won't be making that same mistake again I can assure you.

We now also realise that our hutch is probably too small and will be upgrading to the unused shed which is at least 10ft by 6ft. We are in the process of converting it before our home check is done for the rescue bunny. We have lots of questions and I'm sure you will be able to give us some excellent advice and share the benefit of you experience with us.

In time I would like to think that we can repay in some little way by fostering some bunnies for local rescues or volunteering our services in some other useful way.

We have loved what we have read so far. It seems a fabulous community. A whole little world that we never knew existed out there. Best wishes to everyone. Gill & George xxx

Aw, welcome to the forum.