• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Help me decide what to do please?

irish rabbit

New Kit
Hi everyone, I am a newbie to this board although I have lurked for a long time. I work with a rescue based in Ireland that takes in all sorts of animals, big and small. I have had probably 6 or so rabbits come into the rescue before...but my dilema is this....

I just had a house bunny come into the rescue and she is living in my house (since it is too cold now for her to go into the cattery). I have always loved rabbits but this one I have truely fallen head over heels with. :love: She comes up to me and gives me a nudge for stroking on the head, follows me around and gives me a head butt greeting everytime I pass her crate. She is living in a 48 inch dog crate in my son's bedroom and has about 3 hours roam time a day. Now my problem is this, I would LOVE to keep her, but I know that my husband won't let me get another bunny for her to bond too. At least not anytime soon he won't. Working in rescue I do have quiet the zoo here allready. :lol: Would it be unfair of me to keep her, would she be happier if I adopted her out to someone who could get her a bunny friend? House rabbits are not that common here in Ireland- the other bunnies I have adopted out have went to outdoor/hutch homes. I might end up with her for a quiet a long time before she gets an indoor home anyway and in that time I know my son and I will fall even more in love with her.

So what should I do?? I would love to keep her, but I don't want to be unfair to her, she is the sweetest little bunny ever. I would probably be able to get her a bunny friend in the next year at some point.

Any advice would be great!! Oh and she is going for her jabs and spaying very soon.

Thanks!!
Kelly