• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Spraying Doe

cavy.girl

New Kit
Hi, I'm Becky; I'm pretty new to buns, had my first rabbit since last Christmas - she's called Bobby. I keep guinea pigs too and have done so for 16 years, and much of the time feel pretty stumped and guessing getting used to having a rabbit. Bobby is my lovely big girl and I'm learning so much from her!

Like I said though, I'm left puzzled by some of her behaviour and I'd like to quickly learn some stuff about her; I'm hoping by coming on here and speaking to you guys I'll learn one or two things and help give Bobby a good home.

One thing that puzzles me (and winds me up!) is her spray of wee, and am I right that a red coloured wee is normal for a bun? Bobby sprays when in her cage, which can be annoying when it comes out of the cage and down the walls, and she also does it when having floor time, and will spray everywhere! She's not neutered or anything so would this be the answer to calm her down? She also have monthly tempers and nesting too. She's very protective over her cage mate, Beans, and will attempt mounting at almost any opportunity. They get on well but this bit does bother me. Beans is a guinea, and I wouldn't normally suggest housing a guinea and a rabbit together, but they do get on well and Bobby never hurts him. (Bobby first lived with Clover, another of my guineas who had a long term illness and she mothered him, which was invaluable for him when his brother died.) Which is another thing, Beans is a boy so I'm not too sure what Bobby thinks she's gonna be able to do to him!

Any advice is appreciated.

Having Bobby spayed should stop her spraying, and it will stop her nesting & monthly tempers.