• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

A topic for debate....

Julia123

Warren Veteran
As some of you may know I am an artist, I paint oil on canvas, after a timely break due to personal circumstance I am now back working and have a few comissions and a body of work for an exhibition to prepare.

So here comes the crunch, I make up my own canvases (make timber reinforced frames and stretch unbleached cotton duck canvas over them) I was taught at Oxford uni and have always used organic materials.....

.... after making the frames they need to be sized (a ground that prepares the canvas for paint and stops bleed and unecessary saturation)....

the traditional ground is...... rabbit skin glue - a crystal compound that is mixed with water and heated ...etc etc

My question is.... How ethical is it for me to continue to use this????

I am involved in rabbit rescue and am a vegitarian of 28 years. I have never previously considered it as it was part of the process... my choices are...

Beef size... but the strength can cause bowing of timber and ripping of canvas due to the make up...

Acrylic size - goes beyond all my beliefs in organic make up and would inevitably decrease the longevity of the paintings...

What say you ?????

Do they use rabbits who have died naturally? Or is it a by-product of rabbits killed for their meat/skin?

I don't have strong personal opinions on the use of animals for food/clothing etc to be honest, but I can understand completely why some people do.

Do they use rabbits who have died naturally? Or is it a by-product of rabbits killed for their meat/skin?

I don't have strong personal opinions on the use of animals for food/clothing etc to be honest, but I can understand completely why some people do.