• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

newbie. rabbits died today...fox? mystery

hello all,
i'm a newbie here and wonder if you could help me with the mystery as to ho my beloved bunnies - Pepper and Sooty, met their death last night. Or it could have been the night before.

We found them in their run today -. half of Sooy's face had gone and her ear had come off. Pepper (male) was complete and they were laying side by side. His eyes were open.

a fox had clearly been trying to get in but i couldnt see a hole - how big a hole do they need?

another question - could a loving couple suddenly fight and kill eachother? though this would not explain why he died....

sorry for the randomness of this post. am just baffled....and sad...

ohhh no!!!!! how awfull R.I.P buns it sounds liek a fox attacked your female for that sort of damage :shock::(

ok i am surprised that no one looked in on your rabbits for 2 nights? this seems unusual. foxes dont need much room to get in sadly a small hhole will get a paw in and hold a rabbit down. it sadly could be that the y fought and he had a heart attack...only a post mortem would really tell. i am so sorry for your loss xxxx

If it was potentially last night or the night before, when were they last checked on?
i think a fox only needs a very small hole, is there any evidence of forced entry? From the appearance of your doe it sounds like it could have been some sort of animal attacked them. The male could have died of shock?
I'm very sorry for your loss, very sad :cry:

Last edited: