• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

trying to upgrade bunny housing on a budget and confused!!1 help!!!

loutigger

New Kit
here goes! im a newbie so bear with me if im not up to scratch on the lingo etc... but! we have 2 bunnies normal plain brown not giant or lop or dwarf
(free from freecycle, we only intended to get 1 as a friend for our guinea after his previous also freecycle elderly friend passed away, but 2 were left and they were snuggled together and we thought we were cruel seperating them if they were bonded)
which weve discovered are brother and SISTER 3 guesses how we found out! theyre 6m old so not full size and now seperate,
mum had 8 kits (babies?) and is in a small hutch with them (we bought it for £15 second hand in desperation, hadnt the cash to get anything else (see why below) and wanted mum seperate, we seperated them when we found 7 babies one morning, all 7 died sadly, the 8 she has now are a 2nd litter, she caught the day she gave birth, and shes well fed etc so more babies followed!)
anyways point is we want to get dad neutered asap so he can live with mum after the babies r rehomed (thru here i hope!) AND we need a new bigger home, as the 4ft hutch dad is in i now know (thru reading on here) isnt big enough, (bluddy pet shops! its not as small as some either!!!) we have a seperate 6ft+ run (not measured) but cannot leave it attatched to the hutch as no suprises, daddy digs for england! hes got out before now (i caught mum but he got away) and returned the following morning (my guess is hungry!) so absolutley not giving him that much freedom again,(unless its ok to put wire mesh under to stop the digging and find another outlet for him?) anyways....