• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hi everyone i'm new to rabbits

Daphne & Peanut

Alpha Buck
Hello

We've just rescued a 14 week old rabbit called Peanut, I'm not too sure what breed he is but i will post a photo as soon as i can get one! I am a big worrier so here are a few questions that i hope you can help me out with.

1, What age should i start introducing Peanut to vegetables? I gave him a small piece of carrot on the day we got him and i didn't seem to agree with him so i've not given him anymore and just fed him pellets and hay is that correct?

2, It's raining really heavily at the moment and i'm worried that peanut may get cold and wet , i've got some blue tarpaulin to cover him up with at night, should i put that ovr him or try and get some clear plastic so he can still see out?

3, I want to be able to bring Peanut into the house but at the moment he's not using his litter tray what the best way to train him.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Tamsin and J-P

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to RU:wave:... you'll get better advice and more answers if you post your questions in the rabbit care section, so you can post in the diet section to get help on food, and you can post in the housing section to ask about his hutch and covering it etc... you might get a better response to your questions over there... also you can do a search for things like *litter training* and find all the advice given to sooooo many others who have asked the same question (don't worry your not alone)

Personally I used a cheap gazboo built around the hutches to protect from rain, but I know many people use tarpaulin, as it also stops them from seeing foxes and cats, and getting scared... though I don't know how they fasten it down.