• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Understanding us

Lucy

Warren Veteran
Rescue work is a very hard thing to do. I think to be in it long term you have to be hard and to some extent emotionally detacthed to be able to carry on.

This is not a dig at anyone by the way, I just thought it a moment for reflection on what we rescue people have to go through.

Dealing with the public is the number 1 awful thing and to do that every day of every week, I think we need to create a hard outer shell. For those with animals in care, when things start to go wrong with illnesses it can be so heartwrenching.

If sometimes I come across as unfeeling, that would be why. It's my anti-rescue armour that I need to carry doing what I do.

I have been rescuing now for 8 years and I don't think without my hard shell I could carry on. Even with that protection it is sometimes nearly unbearable. I have been accused of being harsh and judgemental, but I challange anyone after 8 years of dealing the public and animal cruelty to not be tainted. It's just how I deal with what I see on a daily basis.

Sometimes rescue people need more support and less of the armchair advice on how to be better at what we do. It's easy to say when you don't do it yourself.

Many rescuers are burning out so please support your local people or people you feel close to. We really really need it.

I complete agree with everything you have said.

I don't think that I could cope with working directly with the public, which is why I chose to open a sanctuary rather than a rescue. Most of my bunnies come via rescues so I never have to deal with their original owners.