• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New House Bunny Owner

MammaH

Alpha Buck
Hi there!
Im new to the whole bunny owning thing and I need some help.

I'll be picking up Binx on in the 1st week of Sept and he'll be 8weeks.

Im living in rented property right now, but my landlord has said no smelly animals, and I'm worried that when I'm potty training he'll leave nasty smells so how what would I use to get rid of the smell?

Also he would be living in a cage when I'm not there, but when I'm in the house he'll have full run of my bedroom, but my cage will be in a walk in wardrobe (dont worry its not wha you think its like a small extended room thats been turned into a wardrobe. Will that affect his potty training?

Also do house rabbits still need to go outside? Ive heard they need vitimin D and get it from the sun so would they still need to go outside because my garden isnt rabbit proof so im guessing i would need a lead?

Aaah Im sorry guys I have loadsa questions, I need real people who have real bunnies and not just read it on the internet or in books.

HELP!!:(

to save the landlords carpet i bought a cheap one to sit over the top, any accidents then wont affect the landlords stuff.. altho we havent had any accidents yet.

bunnies do not smell as long as you keep on top of litter tray cleaning :) poop still goes everywhere but they are dry little balls easily picked up by hand or with a little vac :)

litter training can be pretty easy, keep your baby caged until it gets the hang of it and accidents should be rare. the more space you give as a baby the more litter trays you will need to provide, little bladders and all that.

in his cage alvin picked a spot to wee so thats where the litter tray was put and now fully trained i can choose the tray locations ;)