• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New House Bunny Owner

MammaH

Alpha Buck
Hi:wave: Im new to the whole bunny thing and I'm picking up my new bunny on the 4th Sept and he will be a house bunny.

I have loads of questions to ask and the more help I get, the better!

Im living in a rented property and as long as the bunny isnt smelly then its fine, but I know that hay does give off a distinctive smell, i was wondering what would be a better substitute?

Also Ive heard that bunnys need to go outside to get vitimin D? But my garden is not bunny proof at all, so would I need to get a lead?

Aaah I have way too many questions! :shock:
Also how do you potty train a bunny? I am in 2 minds about getting him neutered, but would that help? I'm getting him when hes 8weeks, so will that be easier to help him potty train if hes a young age?

MammaH & Binx (Baby Bunny):bunny:
=]

I don't really find hay in rabbit quantities particularly smelly. Might be I'm just used to it though. Hay's the most important part of the diet but you can feed fresh grass instead. Some freeze dried grasses might smell less I guess.

Pellet dry foods have vitamin D etc. added :)

Young buns will litter train but tend to loose their training again about 4-6 months old when they get their hormones. Neutering stop hormones so helps a lot with litter training :)

thank you tamsin that helps alot
is it also worth having him vaccinated? becuase he will be on his own and we dont live near the country, but i dont want to take any major risks with him getting ill as he is my first rabbit and i want to do it right.

ive been doing tons of research over the internet, but i feel that it is better if i get information from real people who own rabbits instead of reading it just from a book..