• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Can I ask an honest ... question?

malibuxceci

New Kit
As I said this is my first bunny and i'm still learning. . The thing is Miko is just not affectionate. I love him to pieces but he's not really affectionate. When i pick him up he squirms out of my arms and when he was a baby he wasn't like that I was able to lay down with him for hours. But now he doesnt seem affectionate I try to put him on the couch with me to sit, but he runs off the second i put him on the couch. i try to lay down on the floor with him to get down to his level about 80% of the time Miko is unresponsive or just moves away from me.

I understand bunnies are not dogs/cats ... is this normal or is there something i can do to make him more affectionate? will getting him spayed make him more affectionate? I love him to pieces and i just want to show him affection it kind of hurts me that he wont let me. it seems like most of you have affectionate bunnies so is there something i can do to help Miko along with this??

hes probably just hit his teens... nothing we do is right when they are in that stage :(

alvin is just over a year old he was neutured at 4 months, and only now he seems to actually like me... so yup for some of us its very normal not to have snuggle buns..

Probably getting him neutered may help and most buns need time to come out of their shell so to speak.
Hand feeding and rewarding him for coming over to you etc with a little treat may also help.
However, and sorry to say this, but it is possible that he may not be a snuggle bun, some just aren't...they appreciate you in their own way but not just the way you want them to.