• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

is my rabbit bullying me

wattsy

Young Bun
hello, i was wondering what you rabbit people think of this, my bunny who is now fourteen weeks old wont be handled, is struggling like mad. every day i have to transport her from her cage in the garage to her outside one on the concrete. at first she was fine but gradually had issues being handled, a few bad pick ups and she has scratched me to death, i am worried she will hurt herself struggling. so i am encouraging her to go into a cage with a treat and am not actually picking her up at all. is this wrong, will she end up behaving badly because if have not tackled her adolescence. i am working on the theory that she doesnt want to be picked up so i dont, what would you do?

Well i am no expert and have only just got a rabbit myself last week.

But i have had horses, cats, dogs and i can tell you that you should never show animals fear as if they can sense fear or nervousness then they have won.

I think it just takes time, my barney has bitten me a few times but i still pick him up in the hope that he will get used to it. xx

Hiya..
I had the same thing with Blossom..Your little bun is just being a teenager. To be honest as soon a she had had her VHD jabs..She calmed down alot.(dont think this was the reason though.!!)
Hang in there she will get better.

Rabbits are prey animals and do not like being caught for obvious reasons. She will not panic so much if you can build some trust between you. Try some time on you lap and give her some healthy treats to reward her.

Mine hate it too so your not alone.
Good luck!