• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

buying a 2nd rabbit

baobao

Young Bun
hey all,

My m8s rabbit recently had babies and i am really interested in buying one. They are dwarf lop rabbits and are damn cute!!

i currently have a lop rabbit (not dwarf) who is 3 years old and is a boy (not neutered). The one i am interested in buying is only 5 weeks old but not too sure if it is a boy or a girl.

Do you think it is a good idea buying this rabbit??

Not until you know the sex of the rabbit you wish to buy.

Also you will need to have your rabbit neutered if you wish to get another bunny, as often a Doe and a buck are the best pairing method or two does.

Im not an expert but I wouldnt recommend putting such a young rabbit in with a 2-3 year old matured rabbit.

Hope this helps a bit.

Are you going to keep them together? If so no its not a good idea.

5 weeks is also way too young to be taken away from the mother its normally around 12 weeks.

Your unneutered male will hump the baby and the baby may well be a girl. Either way it won't be nice for the baby bun and could result in pregnancy or fights.

I think a friend for your bunny is a great idea :)

But you will need to get him neutred first (he would harrass a girl and fight with a boy). He would need to be kept apart from females for somewhere in the region of 6-8 weeks after neutring anyway, so I definately wouldn't rush into anything. Even after that time though I think the baby might still be to small to be paired with your adult :(

Have you thought about adopting an adult female?
There are plenty of adorable ones about, eg:
http://www.rabbitrehome.org.uk/moreinfo.asp?RabID=12802

my days!! that rabbit is so cute, is it yours??

thinking about it maybe it isnt a good idea buying sucha young rabbit.