• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hi everyone .......Baby advice

roarysmam

Young Bun
:wave:

I am new to the board and just wanted to say hello.

Been reading for quite a while now and the advice on here as been priceless to me.

My female lionhead has just given birth to six overnight, (rescued her 7 weeks ago and was told she was spayed!:shock:) I obviously havnt disturbed the nest, and all seem quite big and healthly. Its my first time having babies and would welcome any advice please.

Mam has plently of food, greens and water. She is on her third bowl of food since 6.00 am this morning!

But please any advice would be greatly appreciated thank you.

ADMIN EDIT TO CHANGE TITLE FOR ADVICE

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

Firstly I assume you have removed the dad? If they have still been together after she gave birth she could well be pregnant again so that is something to keep in mind. Basically I would leave the nest be. If there are any dead/sick babies mum will usually push them out of the nest. If you do feel you need to check them please rub your hands in some dirty straw and stroke mum for her scent before disturbing the nest. Feed plenty of greens and pellets ad lib. She will eat and drink a lot more whilst she is nursing.

Sorry i dont have any advice never had babies, hopefully soemone more experienced will see this thread soon and reply! oh and welcome to the forum:wave::wave:

Oh gosh a bit of a surpise for you!

Firstly, food for mum - Excell Junior and dwarf, feed as much as she wants this is the best food for lactating does and also the babies can wean onto it. Also feed dark green food such as broccoli to help her milk production. Make sure she has plenty of water she will be drinking much more.