• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

are hutch snuggles worth the money?

imo these prices are outrageous! in the winter i use old duvets, sleeping bags and carpet covered with either off cuts of lino, tarpaulin or shower curtains. there are others on here with other great ideas too.

Yes I thought they were a bit expensive, especially if they're not that great! I've done a quick search on here and have found a couple of ideas, for now I think I'll just use a shower curtain for rain. I'm new to this outdoor stuff, I don't normally have to consider rain and wind! :D

I use a big sheet of tarpulin for overnight and the rain if I have any buns in the hutch. For the playhouse I just close the door, but I do put the tarpulin over the run in winter to keep it dry.

I use a layer of bubble wrap in the winter and then a big tarpaulin over the top plus a snuggle safe for each pair of buns. They seem to have found this okay for the last two winters, in fact given the choice, most of my buns spent their time outside in their secure runs anyway except for the really cold nights.

I wouldn't think that it's worth paying that much for a hutch hugger. A massive tarpaulin at Wickes is only just over £5 and does a massive hutch and run combination. That would be my recommendation.:D

I've got one that came with a secondhand hutch. I don't like them at all. During the day it condensates so wood is wet!! I have removed it and I use tarp and a shower curtain. On the other hutch I used car sun screens taped together with duck tape.