• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Eliot & Molly bonding diary

the 57 bears

Young Bun
I was thinking about asking for advice on how to deal with my Molly, as she is quite a temperamental girl and she tends to be a little bity... both with me and with Eliot... So I thought it's probably easier to keep a little diary, until the bonding is complete, as this is my first time with bonding and I would greatly appreciate some feedback from the experts!!! :D

Molly's a two-year-old minilop, spayed a while ago, even though I couldn't say when exactly (I got her at the Greenwich rescue). One of her ears looks as if a little bit at the end was bitten off... I don't know much about her previous life, just that she was sharing the hutch with another girl, but the rescue lady guaranteed they hadn't been together for a long time. I hope they aren't missing each other too much now...

As soon as I brought her home she started being quite grumpy and immediately territorial about the cage where I'm keeping her. I have been patiently trying to get her used to my smell and to my hands, getting slowly close to her and to her things, and she is a hardcore biter, I have to say... But she is finally calming down; today she let me tidy her cage without a grunt. She flops out constantly, like a lazy spoilt girl who's always slightly bored and annoyed with something... But she seems to be at ease and happy with her new home. We now even have conversations where I grind my teeth and she will reply by grinding hers...