• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Please help would be very gratful

Vicx3

New Kit
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie i have been trying to look online about trying to find out about my rabbit he is a dwaf lop and he is very nervous i have had him for over a year now and i handle him every day but if he is out in the garden he wont let me go near him he also is very stiff when i pick him out of his cage i have tryed lots of things leaving the door open but he just wont come out:(, i have had him in doors where is is a little better he wil sit next to me on the sofa, only problem is i will bring is litter tray in on the floor and he will get up on the sofa to wee i try to tell him off n put him in his try but he will still get up on the sofa to wee.:? Would be very graful if anyone could give me some advice i just want him to be calm with me n not be so scared all the time, i will add i did get him from a pet shop and she said he had never been handled also i have had him neutered.
thanks everyone :wave:

Last edited:
:wave: Hi, welcome to RU

The first thing that came to mind was that this is exactly how both my rabbits are... don't forget that rabbits are prey animals and are nervous by nature. Many don't like being picked up and will never enjoy it. However they can learn to enjoy nose rubs, strokes and general interaction.