• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rabbits kept with other small animals?

the 57 bears

Young Bun
I would like to get a friend for my Eliot, but because my landlord already wasn't happy with one bun, I am not sure it is a good idea to get a second one...
So I was thinking, maybe I can get a smaller animal to keep him company when I'm away. I do know that it's not such a brilliant idea, but maybe you guys can give me some advice. Is there a rodent that rabbits can live happily with?
I know for sure I can exclude guinea pigs and rats, and chinchillas because they have special needs and I couldn't keep one in Eliot's cage. Hamsters are way too small... ferrets too big... Maybe a degu?

I am by no means an expert but I am pretty confident in saying "No" to all you suggest. I would (if you can't get another bun) concentrate on giving extra attention rather than a "small animal" as a companion.

All the best,

TP;)

Well, yes, it is a dumb idea... Eliot could easily harm a smaller animal with a simple flop. Nevermind... I'll think about the Netherland Dwarf option. And until then, Eliot will continue to get lots and lots of attention as usual!

Hiya,

The best option might be to discuss your landlords specific concerns about your rabbit and suggest ways around them. For example they may be worried about damage so offering a higher deposit may reassure them you could also suggest more frequent visits, offer to have the carpets cleaned before you leave - that type of thing.

Tamsin